Nathan Kay Quintet

Nathan Kay – Trumpet
Rowan Wolf – Tenor Sax
Lex Korten – Piano
Mikailo Kasha – Bass
Stephen Morris – Drums

The Nathan Kay Quintet offers audiences everywhere a fresh and innovative take on jazz. The group features original compositions by Nathan Kay and feature diverse harmonic characteristics and nuanced melodic lines. Kay is a musical storyteller; he uses jazz harmony, gospel chords, folk-infused melodies, and rhythmically driving drum lines to engage with his listeners. Music critics in Rochester’s CITY Newspaper have celebrated Kay’s composition’s stating, “Kay is an excellent composer… the tunes are so strong, you might think you’re hearing an obscure standard.” Trumpet player and composer, Nathan Kay hails from Oconomowoc, Wisconsin and studied jazz performance at the Eastman School of Music in Rochester, NY. During his time at Eastman, he founded his own bands, such as the Nathan Kay group. Kay won 1st place in the 2018 National Trumpet Competition (jazz division) and has performed at various venues across the country.